Why a Glimpse in the Glass?

For now we see through a glass, darkly, but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known. 1 Corinthians 13:12 (KJV)

Most days, I look at the world through dirty glasses, gazing at stuff through a layer of God-knows-what. I just forget to keep them clean, forget there’s anything between me and reality, forget that I’ll never again see the details of anything except through little windows. They’re good ones, my glasses. They define the lines between one thing and another, help me articulate the leaves on trees, see the color of people’s eyes instead of shadow-circles in their heads. They’re not perfect, though, you know? The prescription’s probably a little old now, and at the best of times they distort things a little. Objects are closer than they appear, and the whole world doesn’t fit in my field of vision.

All this to say: that goes for other kinds of seeing, too. Are we able to see the whole picture of who we are, who other people are, what the world is, crystal clear and unmediated? No, I don’t think so. Not in this lifetime. Science shifts. Texts take interpreting. Leaders disagree. We become friends with the enemy. And even our minds can play tricks on us.

Don’t get me wrong, I believe the truth is out there. I know from experience there’s a truth that can be trusted, that we can build our lives on if we’re careful, step by step. Yes, even Truth with a capital T, that is to say like a proper noun, something you can come to know personally and not just factually. But I feel the need to start by admitting the brokenness of my own telescope. I will probably always be one with more questions than answers, and that is okay; it is normal.

This blog will be a place for me to speak about my attempts to follow the Way of Jesus. I’ve only been on it for about eight years, which in the grand scheme is nothing. But to be honest with you, Jesus is the only thing that has made life make sense to me, ever. So this journey is important, and I want to share it with friends old and new, family blood and extended. If for no other reason than because if you don’t know what my faith means to me, then you don’t truly know who I am nor who I’m trying to become.

But I want to know who you are, too. This will also be a place for me to listen and to learn. So feel free to point out (respectfully, please) the dirt on my glasses, the crack in my telescope. Bedevil me with questions. Look through my lenses and lend me yours. We were never promised perfect understanding in the here and now. But through our dirty glasses, let’s not stop looking for the beauty, for signs of life, for glimpses of the truth. Then when we’re no longer constrained by our current limitations, when we no longer need these panes of glass, we’ll be ready, at last, to see face to face.

5 thoughts on “Why a Glimpse in the Glass?

  1. Yay! Looking forward to hearing from you!

    (btw, thanks to you, I finally understand the title of Philip K. Dick’s “A Scanner Darkly”… hah)

  2. Pingback: Year One of Forever | A Glimpse in the Glass

Leave a Reply

