Up and Out

Hello readers! As always, thanks for being here! Over the last few months of writing for A Glimpse in the Glass, I’ve kept the posts coming once a week. This was an intentionally slow pace because I knew I had some big projects I needed to take care of before I could devote more time to writing. I’m happy to say those projects are now behind me, so (God willing) I’m ready to commit to posting more often.

I’ve considered for awhile what I would post about when I had the time. The broad focus of this blog is my journey of faith. As much as anything else, this blog is an excuse for me to take an honest look at my life, see where I need to grow, and get truths I too often forget down in black and white. In a sense, it’s a way of keeping myself accountable, making sure I’m paying attention to the Teacher (aka Rabbi Jesus).

So to make sure I’m keeping focused and balanced, I’ve decided to base the categories of my posts on what my Teacher said were the greatest commandments, the Top Two as it were: “Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength” and “Love your neighbor as yourself.” If my faith doesn’t do both of these things, it’s pretty much pointless. I like to keep in mind the importance of this with the mnemonic “Up and Out.” I need to look up to God, look out to my neighbor, and try not to spend too much time looking in the mirror.

My new posting schedule will be Tuesday and Friday. Tuesday’s posts will be primarily about looking up, taking my blinders off and raising my eyes to the wild heavens. Friday’s posts will be about looking out, trying to focus on justice and reconciliation and other things God cares about in my very own daily life, trying to live with hands and heart open. I’m a person who needs to carefully balance philosophy and practicality, and I hope this will be a good way to do that (and get some wisdom from you, dear readers, to help me do it better!). I also want to add at least one more feature to my posting schedule eventually, but one step at a time.

Thanks for sticking with me so far. I am blessed by your readership. Stay tuned for more!

Leave a Reply

