To Jerusalem

So here we are in Holy Week, the time when God put his money where his mouth was, so to speak. How much does God really love us? Enough to accept unjust accusations without a word? Enough to suffer great physical pain, humiliation, and death? Enough to watch his loved ones desert him and forgive his persecutors in the thick of his pain? Enough to absorb all the sins of history in one fragile human body? Enough to fight death to the death so that we might live to the full?

Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes.

I imagine myself at the bottom of that hill to Jerusalem and I cannot fathom climbing up. To walk so knowingly into my own doom, utter desertion and devastation, would take so much more courage than I was born with. And yet this is the journey we all face, a one-way ticket in our hands to death and whatever lies beyond. We can do it with eyes open, or we can drag our feet, half hoping to find an escape route or at least a distraction along the way so we can ignore what lies at the top of the hill.

God, please give me eyes to see and ears to hear what is really important in this short life.

God, please give me the courage to look at my fears straight on and tell my sense of self-preservation, “Out of my way, enemy!”

God, please give me the ability to do what is right in the face of great pain.

God, before I lose my life, give me the grace to give it away so that I may fully live.

Thank you for helping me realize, finally, that I’m not walking up this hill alone.

Leave a Reply

