Prayer for a Busy Life

Fifteen minutes (maybe ten) before I have to leave for work. I curl up with a blanket and my Bible, the first bit of sunlight streaming through my window. I read a psalm, then read it again, letting the words of praise, grief, more praise sink in.Walking to work, skirting traffic, trying to keep my umbrella level. My body is groggy and allergic to coffee, but my mind is even sleepier. It’s the opposite of the time when you fall asleep and dream fragments drift constantly into your head. I try to center my mind around this: Hear, O Israel: the LORD our God, the LORD is one. Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength and love your neighbor as yourself. There is no commandment greater than these…

I duck into an unused conference room on my break. Quiet spaces in the office are precious these days. I read from the tattered turquoise copy of My Utmost for His Highest that’s lived in my purse forever. Or maybe I offer up some words for my friend with five kids between the teen years and babyhood, who doesn’t get official breaks. Or maybe I just sit there for a few minutes in silence, trying to let go of thoughts and just be who I am with the great I Am.

Walking home. I feel too exhausted to create words of my own, but I jam my earbuds in and turn on the audio Gospel. I am the vine, and you are the branches… As the Father loved me, so I have loved you… Now remain in my love… The words come out crackly and the background music is corny, but the message washes over me and my spirit relaxes into a posture of Amen.

So many days this is all I feel I can do, a moment of prayer snatched here and there, like a bite on the run. With so little, God does so much. I offer my crumbs, and God gives me bread for life.

“Take [the peaceful moments of your day], poor crumbs of minutes though they may be, and give yourself to God in them. You will not be able to feel prayerful in them, but that is beside the point… We should be misers in prayer, scraping up these flinders of time and holding them out trustfully to the Father… There is time enough for what matters supremely to us, and there always will be.” Sister Wendy Beckett

How do you weave prayer or meditation or moments focusing on what truly matters into your daily life?

One thought on “Prayer for a Busy Life

  1. Pingback: Book of the Week: Sister Wendy on Prayer | A Glimpse in the Glass

Leave a Reply

