The Reasons Why I Shouldn’t Do This

I’m getting over a chest cold, which means “Just relax and breathe!” seems more impossible than usual right now.

I live in a studio apartment with another person and a cat and work in a very crowded office, so “Go into your room and shut the door” isn’t as easy as it sounds either.

I work full time, write on the side for fun and profit, organize a fundraiser for my church every year starting right about now, just started a new volunteer job, and am learning Biblical Greek in my spare time. (Yeah. Really.)

And all those Christmas presents won’t make themselves.

And then there are those pesky things like dishes and cooking and actually spending time with my loved ones.

So I really don’t have the time, or space, or mental energy to sit there and do nothing. Even for 15 minutes. I am booked. I am double-booked.

But then I realize something: how I spend my time determines who I am.

And really, what do I want people to remember about me at the end of my life? My efficient fundraising? My spotless kitchen?

Do I want them to remember me as harried and overworked?

Or do I want them to remember me as someone who exuded a quiet joy because she took the time to soak up God’s presence?

To that last one: yes, yes, yes.

And taking the time means making the time. So this month’s motto will be “do it anyway.”

Today’s 15 minutes of prayer: snatched in the conference room at work, which was actually free for once. Mostly spent just trying to let go and get quiet. But it’s not about how I feel, it’s about doing it anyway.

I’m spending this month blogging with other Faith and Inspiration writers at The Nester’s 31 Days challenge. Here’s the complete list of my posts for the month so far.

6 thoughts on “The Reasons Why I Shouldn’t Do This

  1. “But it’s not about how I feel, it’s about doing it anyway.” — yep. I’ve been trying to start a meditation practice, and often I feel like I’m not doing very well at it, but this is basically the sentiment I tell myself. Letting myself off the hook for not doing it right, or not getting out of it what I think I should — because all that matters is doing it. The benefits might come later, and possibly in unexpected forms, even if I don’t feel them at the time.

    I hope you feel better soon. That stuff’s going around all over the country, or so it seems. Take care of yourself; you deserve it.

    • Glad to hear you are doing meditation practice! I hope this series will help encourage you.

      The benefits might come later, and possibly in unexpected forms, even if I don’t feel them at the time.

      Yes, absolutely. This applies to a lot of things, I’ve learned. Art, relationships, faith: none of them can truly soar without the ability to stick out those times when it feels like nothing is happening.

      And I do feel better today. Thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

