Words Vs. Silence

Have you ever stopped yourself in the middle of a sentence, cutting off a rant that had been going on for minutes, and think to yourself, Wow, I’m being a jerk?

Well, I kind of hope it’s not just me.

It was one of those crying-in-my-cubicle days, one of those days when I realized something about myself, and ultimately I’m glad, but the realization hurt. I realized that too often, without even realizing it, I use words to tear others down rather than build them up. It’s generally not malice, it’s just carelessness, but it still hurts people.

Luckily, I know the antidote to carelessness. The opposite of carelessness is mindfulness.

So prayer today was especially meaningful. In mindful silence, I could lay down the burden of the words I’d wielded earlier. I could practice refraining from speaking as a gesture of peace. I could center my mind on divine forgiveness. I could cling to hope for change.

Today was a reminder of why silence is precious.

Today’s 15 minutes of prayer: Knelt on the bath mat again. The orange, fuzzy bath mat. The weird setting helped me take myself less seriously… and take the prayer more seriously.

I’m spending this month blogging with other Faith and Inspiration writers at The Nester’s 31 Days challenge. Here’s the complete list of my posts for the month so far.

Leave a Reply

