The Most Amazing Portable, Free Prayer Tool

Yep, today I have a great prayer tool to share with you. It’s free, easy to use, and can go with you anywhere. In fact, if you’re reading this you could start using it right now!

I’m referring, of course, to your breath.

The act of breathing is something I do automatically most of the time, and yet if I want to, I can consciously use it to my advantage. In this way, it’s a lot like the act of thinking. The two go well together, in times set aside for “official” prayer and during the stressful, messy everyday. One good, mindful, deep breath can nourish body and spirit and help me refocus. It’s a mini-prayer break that doesn’t take any more time than an inhale and an exhale.

So today I am going to challenge you (and myself) to do the following tiny prayer exercise. Even if your day doesn’t include even 15 minutes to spend on pure prayer, everyone has time to do this!

Step 1: Breathe in. Remain present to the moment and focus on happily absorbing the love God has for you.

Step 2: Breathe out. Remain present to the moment and focus on happily letting God’s love flow outward from you.

Repeat as needed.

There you go. A tiny prayer retreat, five seconds tops. The two greatest commandments reinforced in real life. Something simple and refreshing to do today, right now, and then again and again, until it becomes something as natural as breathing, a heartbeat that sustains.

Today’s 15 minutes of prayer: Afternoon break in the work training room. I had to laugh, remembering one of my favorite lines from Sister Wendy on Prayer – that it’s perfectly okay to come before God as you are, to tell God you have a head cold and are “greatly tempted to impatience.” Yep, that’s me to a T today.

I’m spending this month blogging with other Faith and Inspiration writers at The Nester’s 31 Days challenge. Here’s the complete list of my posts for the month so far.

Leave a Reply

